Getting VLC to load my default playlist

February 23, 2007

I was very annoyed by the fact that VLC did not keep the playlist when restarted and I was always forced to load the playlist myself. In my case the playlist is in a url (it is supplied by my broadband and TV provider) but it could also be a file.

It turns out that the solution  is very simple:

  1. Open VLC
  2. Go to Settings/Preferences.
  3. Select Playlist
  4. Enter your default playlist in the Default stream field.

Basically you can build your playlist, save it (open the playlist with CTRL+P and then Manage/Save playlist) and then put the full path to the saved playlist in the Default stream field as explained in the steps above.

24 Responses to “Getting VLC to load my default playlist”

  1. stdavidsprimary Says:

    Thanks:)
    That has been bugging me!

  2. Robert K. Says:

    great…. was a big help i searched so long for that ‘feature’

  3. White Says:

    Thanks, guess I’m too slow to figure out stream == playlist

  4. Brandon Says:

    Wonderful tip! Along with the setting for “append to playlist” when you have “single window” mode enabled this allows you to build up a persistent playlist. If only there was a way to save it automatically.

  5. Andrei Says:

    Big thanks! 🙂 I searched so long for that

  6. Jorge Says:

    Thanx a lot


  7. Нынешним женщинам не составляет труда вести себя по мужски; но им очень редко удается вести себя по джентельменски. Комптон Макензи😉

  8. L.K. Grant Says:

    Much appreciated!

  9. Helmut Duregger Says:

    Thank you

  10. Charles Says:

    Thank you – shame they don’t bring this to the attention of new users at start up.

  11. Roy Says:

    for 2.0 add it like file:///C:/Users/Pranab/Documents/FMradio.xspf


  12. Hi, I do think this is an excellent web site. I stumbledupon it 😉 I am going to return once again since
    I book-marked it. Money and freedom is the greatest way to change, may
    you be rich and continue to help others.

  13. Selena Says:

    What’s up, the whole thing is going fine here and ofcourse every one is sharing information, that’s really fine,
    keep up writing.

  14. XSPF Says:

    What if you have multiple playlists from different providers? Live streaming channels use playlists with multiple servers for redundancy, but VLC will not store the URL of these playlists in its media library.


  15. It’s awesome for me to have a website, which is beneficial in favor of my knowledge.
    thanks admin

  16. cars Says:

    It’s very simple to find out any topic on net as compared
    to textbooks, as I found this article at this web site.


  17. This site was… how do you say it? Relevant!! Finally I’ve found something which helped me.
    Appreciate it!


  18. […] not apparent from the settings within VLC how to accomplish this, but some googling brought up an old blog post from 2007 that explained how to do it. Sort of. The information was outdated, but the remaining piece of the […]

  19. Muhammad S Says:

    10 years is a long time but this post and its comments have made me use VLC the way I had wanted to. Thanks very much


Leave a Reply

